University of Port Harcourt

April 10, 2014 Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ Africa,Nigeria Universities,West Africa

About Us

University of Port Harcourt is a university in the Nigerian city of Port Harcourt. It was established in 1975[5] as University College, Port Harcourt, and was given university status in 1977.In October 2012, the campus was closed after violent student protests. The protest was against the lynching of four of their schoolmates by some members of the nearby host community, under false allegations of armed robbery

Programs Offered

The university originally had six schools in 1977:

  • School of Humanities
  • School of Social Sciences
  • School of Biological Sciences
  • School of Chemical Sciences
  • School of Physical Sciences
  • School of Educational Studies

It changed from a school system to a faculty system in 1982

The university now has ten faculties:

  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Management Sciences
  • College of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Agriculture

Admission and Applications

  • Application fee of FIFTEEN Thousand Naira (N15,000.00) should be paid online at any of the following Banks: UBA, Fidelity Bank, Finbank PLc, Access Bank, ECO Bank, First Bank, and U&C Microfinance Bank.
  • Candidates are further required to proceeds to the Accounts Office (Account 1) of the College of Graduate Studies for official receipts of payment. Thereafter, Candidates collect the forms from the Documentations Unit and the Admission Office of the College of Graduate Studies.
  • Click Here To Apply