University of Bagamoyo

January 21, 2014 Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ Africa,East Africa,Tanzania Universities

About us
University of Bagamoyo [UB] is new, independent, privately established and non partisan university owned by two institutions; Tanzania Legal Education Trust (TANLET) and The Legal and Human Rights Centre (LHRC). Steps towards UB establishment were taken in a modest style on 31st January 1987 when a nongovernmental institution called Tanzania Legal Education Trust (TANLET) was established. This was a trust for achieving through education; inter alia, a free, national democratic society based on the principles of social equity and social justice.TANLET created a legal and human rights project in 1994 which eventually resulted to the establishment of the Legal and Human Rights Centre (LHRC). In 2006 TANLET Board made a deliberate decision to establish training institution that would promote legal education in Tanzania. On 17th October 2007 TANLET informed the LHRC of its intention to establish a new University at Bagamoyo with a view to providing integrated formation to young Tanzanians.On the 7th August 2009 the LHRC unanimously endorsed the University of Bagamoyo project and decided to participate in its establishment as co-owner. On 28th January 2010 UB registration Application was lodged at the Tanzania Commission for Universities. On 15th February the Council of the Prospective University of Bagamoyo held its inception meeting. Between 22nd and 23rd February 2010 the Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) Accreditation Inspection Team conducted 1st accreditation inspection of UB facilities at Dar es Salaam and Bagamoyo. UB’s main campus shall be constructed at Kiromo, Bagamoyo. According to UB’s Five years Rolling Strategic Plan, teaching will start at Dar es Salaam campus.
 Programs Offered

Masters Programs:

1. Networks and security

2.Information Systems management

3.Data mining and Data Analytics


Degree Programmes

Degree Programmes under Cosibe:

Information Technology

Computer Science

Mathematics and statistics





Bsc Education(Biology major,chemistry minor)

Diploma Programmes

Diploma in Chemisty

Diploma in Biology

Diploma in Physics

Diploma in Mathematics

Diploma in Statistics

Diploma in Geography


Admission and Application

Networks and security

Holder of a good first degree or an advanced diploma in computer science, or a related course, which includes computer networks or data communication module.

Any candidate with a numerate degree such as engineering or telecommunications and has obtained a professional qualification, such as Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) shall be considered for admission.

Admission to the UB undergraduate degree programs will follow four distinct routes :

  1. E1: Admissions based on the TCU direct entry criteria i.e. NECTA forms six pass – at least division three. Students with Division I, II and III will be allowed to join year one of the UB applied science degree programs after passing a UB science and mathematics matriculation (UB MSCE) examination.
  2. E2: Alternative TCU approved equivalent admission criteria. This is reserved for applicants with certificates and or diploma’s after completing form four as well as mature entry applicants.  This category of applicants will be required to sit for the UB science matriculation examination.
  3. E3: UB Diploma in Science with a pass of GPA 3.0 and above. Such students will be allowed to proceed with year two of the UB (four year) applied science degree programs (UB Deg)