University of Gulu

February 6, 2014 Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ Africa,East Africa,Uganda Universities

About Us

In 2001 a Technical Task Force was appointed to set up the University. Because of the insecurity in Gulu at the time, the Team set up a temporary office at Lincoln Flat 4 at Makerere University. The Task Force consisted of Dr. J.H. Pen Mogi Nyeko (Vice Chancellor), Prof. Mary. J.N. Okwakol (Deputy Vice Chancellor), Dr. Stephen Tikodri (University Secretary), and Mr Peter Egwelu (Academic Registrar). The office relocated to Gulu in early 2002. In October 2002 the University opened at the District Farm Institute located on Awich Street in Laroo Division, Gulu Municipality. The University opened with the Faculty of Science Education and Institute Human Resource Development offering following course:

Vision:  To be a pillar for academic, professional and sustainable development

Mission: To provide access to higher education, research and conduct quality professional training for the delivery of appropriate services directed towards community transformation and conservation of biodiversity.

Programs offered

  1. Bachelor of Science Education;
  2. Postgraduate Diploma in Education;
  3. Diploma in Computer Science.
  4. Bachelor of Business Administration;
  5. Bachelor of Development Studies;
  6. Postgraduate Diploma in Financial Management;
  7. Diploma in Secretarial Science;
  8. Diploma in Development Studies.
  9. Faculty of Medicine,
  10. Faculty of Agriculture and Environment,
  11. Faculty of Science,
  12. Faculty of Education and Humanities,
  13. Faculty of Business and Development Studies,
  14. Institute of Peace and Strategic Studies, and
  15. Institute of Research, Graduate Studies and Staff Development.