University of Sokoine

June 27, 2013 Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ Africa,East Africa,Tanzania Universities

About us

The history of Sokoine University of Agriculture dates back to 1965 when it started as an Agricultural College offering diploma training in the discipline of agriculture. With the dissolution of the University of East Africa and the consequent establishment of the University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) in July 1970, the College was transformed into a Faculty of Agriculture of UDSM and thereby started offering Bachelor of Science in Agriculture.

In 1974, the Division of Forestry was established and hence the faculty was named Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry. The introduction of Bachelor of Veterinary Science in 1976 and the establishment of the Division of Veterinary Science, the Faculty was re-named “Faculty of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Sciences”.

The Faculty was on the 1st of July 1984 transformed, through Parliamentary Act No. 6 of 1984, into a full-fledged University and became known as Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA) with the Faculty of Agriculture, Faculty of Forestry and Faculty of Veterinary Medicine.
Currently SUA has four faculties namely; the Faculty of Agriculture (FoA), Faculty of Forestry and Nature Conservation (FoF & NC), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (FVM) and the Faculty of Science (FoS), the latter which was established in 2001.

Other academic units include the Directorate of Research and Postgraduate Studies (DRPGS), Institute of Continuing Education (ICE), Development Studies Institute (DSI), Computer Centre (CC), Pest Management Centre (PMC), SUA Centre for Sustainable Rural Development (SCSRD) and the Sokoine National Agriculture Library (SNAL).

SUA also hosts the African Seed Health Centre and Virtual Centre known as “Southern African Centre for Infectious Disease Surveillance”.

The university which is located in Morogoro Municipality has 3,350 hectares of land for training, research and production in Morogoro municipality; 840 hectares of forest land in Arusha; 320 hectares of virgin forest for research in Usambara Mountains in Tanga and 500 hectares of miombo woodlands in Kitulanghalo in Morogoro region.

The university has for campuses namely, the Main Campus within Morogoro municipality; Solomon Mashlangu Campus (SMC) in Morogoro municipality; SUA Training Forest (SUATF) Olmotonyi in Arusha region and Mazumbai Forestry Reserve in Tanga region. The University also has one Constituent College, the Moshi University College of Cooperatives and Business Studies (MUCCoBS) which is located at the foot of Mount Kilimanjaro in Moshi Municipality.



Programs offered

Undergraduate & Postgraduate programmes

Undergraduate Certificate Programmes

Certificate In Information Technology -Duration 1 year

Undergraduate Diploma Programmes

Diploma in Information Technology -Duration 2 years

Diploma in Information and Library Science -Duration 2 years

Diploma in Records, Archives and Information Management -Duration 2 years

Diploma in Tropical Animal Health and Production -Duration 2 years

Diploma in Laboratory Technology -Duration 2 years

Undergraduate Degree Programmes

Bsc. (Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness) – Duration – Duration 3 years

Bsc. (Applied Agricultural Extension) – Duration 3 years

Bsc. (Agricultural Education) – Duration 3 years

Bsc. (Agricultural Engineering) – Duration 4 years (Bio-process and Post-Harvest Engineering)  – Duration 4 years (Irrigation and Water Resources Engineering)  – Duration 4 years

Bsc. (Agriculture General) – Duration 3 years

Bsc. (Horticulture) – Duration 3 years

Bsc. (Agronomy) – Duration 3 years

Bsc.  (Animal Science) – Duration 3 years

Bsc. (Aquaculture)– Duration 3 years

Bsc. (Range Management) – Duration 3 years

Bsc. (Food Science and Technology) – Duration 3 years

Bsc. (Family and Consumer Studies) – Duration 3 years

Bsc. (Human Nutrition)– Duration 3 years

Bsc. (Forestry)– Duration 3 years

Bachelor of Tourism Management– Duration 3 years

Bsc. (Wildlife Management)– Duration 3 years

Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine – Duration 5 years

Bsc. (Biotechnology and Laboratory Sciences)– Duration 3 years

Bsc. (Environmental Science and Management)– Duration 3 years

Bsc. (Informatics)– Duration 3 years

Bsc.  Education(Chemistry & Biology)– Duration 3 years

Bsc.  Education(Geography & Biology)– Duration 3 years

Bsc.  Education(Chemistry & Mathematics)– Duration 3 years

Bsc.  Education(Informatics & Mathematics)– Duration 3 years

Bsc.  Education(Geography & Mathematics)– Duration 3 years
Bachelor of Rural Development– Duration 3 years


Undergraduate Programmes at Moshi University College of Cooperative and Business Studies

B.A. in Accounting and Finance

B.A. in Cooperative Management and Accounting

B.A. in Procurement and Supply

B.A. in Community Development

Directorate Of Research And Postgraduate Studies

Research Vision

SUA’s research priorities aim at augmenting the national priorities in agriculture, natural resources, health, nutrition and environment, taking into consideration available human and other resources at the university. Thus, the vision of SUA is to be a center of excellence for research, leading to sustainable development, eradication of poverty and technology in an environmentally friendly manner for the benefit of all people.

Climate Change Impact, Adaptation and Mitigation programme in Tanzania (CCIAM)
Professorial Research Chair
Funding of Research
Intellectual Property Rights Policy
Collaboration Initiatives

Admission and Application

General Admission Requirements

Admission will be provided if a candidate meets the minimum requirements as shown below or as determined by SENATE and in accordance with the capacities of the respective degree programmes

The minimum requirements for the direct entrants into undergraduate degree programmes shall be TWO PRINCIPAL LEVEL PASSES in the Advanced Certificate of Secondary Education Examination (ACSEE) that add up to a minimum of 3.0 points for science and 4.5 for social science programmes.
For science female candidates, the cut off is 2.5 points.
An equivalent candidate for undergraduate programmes shall be required to have a Diploma Certificate with a Distinction/Credit and FIVE passes or THREE credits in relevant subjects at ‘‘O’’ level.
A mature candidate for undergraduate programmes shall be required to have a Diploma with Pass or Credit/Distinction at certificate level and FIVE passes or THREE credits at “O” level in relevant subjects.   Such a candidate shall be required to sit and pass the qualifying Mature Age University Entry Examination (MAEE).
A candidate for diploma programme shall be required to have an A-level certificate with at least one principal pass in one subject from among subjects prescribed as relevant to the diploma programme.
A candidate for certificate programme shall be required to have an ‘‘O’’ Level Certificate with at least three passes in relevant subjects.