Obafemi Awolowo University

May 5, 2014 Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ Africa,Nigeria Universities,West Africa


About Us

Obafemi Awolowo University has the  vision to be  top rated university in Africa, that is, the technological flagship of the West African sub-region, as evidenced by its application of modern technology to teaching, research and community service, and its provision of practical solutions to social, cultural and economic problems.And mission to promote by research and other means the advancement of knowledge and its practical application to social, cultural, economic, scientific and technological problems; to create a conducive teaching and learning community for imparting skills, knowledge, behavior and attitude; advance and protect the independence of the academic enterprise; engender a sense of selfless public service and promote the African culture and tradition.
programs Offered

Admission and Applications






A general requirement for admission is a Bachelor’s degree in Arts, Letters, Philosophy or Science or an acceptable equivalent from an approved University. An academic standing of a minimum of second class lower division or a grade point average of B (3.0 on a 4.0 scale) is required for admission to Masters degrees: a second class upper division for MPhil: and an MPhil or Master’s degree with research thesis in appropriate field and at least 60% (B+) weighted average in the Masters coursework for admission to Doctorate degree.


The Postgraduate programmes available are:



    Postgraduate Diplomas and Certificates


    Masters degrees


        Masters with coursework, long essays/reports – MSc, MA, LLM, MEd, MFA & including Professional Masters – MSc, MA


        Masters with coursework & research thesis – MSc, MA


        Master of Philosophy (MPhil) with coursework & research thesis


    Doctorate (Ph.D)




How and When to Apply



Application for admission must be completed on the online forms supplied by the University, which may be obtained from the PG College website.



Requests for application are advertised by the University about June every year. Admission is conducted once (Harmattan semester) every year to the Humanity- based disciplines and twice to the Sciences.


Admissions and Registration



A student is not officially registered for classes until the entire registration procedure is completed each semester. A request for deferral of admission must be made in writing within 3 months of admission and approved by senate on the recommendation of the Postgraduate College Board.


Enrollment and Residency Requirement



Part- time academic enrollment is available at professional Master level and at Doctoral level for those with good educational reasons for so doing. A graduate student is expected to enroll for each regular academic semester (unless an official leave of absence has been granted by the postgraduate Board) until all requirements for an advanced degree have been completed.


Academic Supervision



Graduate work is supervised by at least one formally appointed graduate supervisor in each academic unit with an advanced degree programme.


Academic Disqualification



A student may be disqualified by Senate as a result of any of the following:



    Non- registration for 2 or more consecutive semesters


    Unsatisfactory academic progress


    A weighted semester coursework average grade less than B (50%)


    Failure (grade less than 45%) in more than two courses in any semester


    Failure in any repeated course irrespective of weighted grade average


    Exceeding the duration or approved extended duration of study


    Concurrent enrollment for more than one postgraduate programme in the University




Financial Assistance to Students


Several types of financial assistance are available to outstanding students. These include postgraduate fellowships, doctoral research grants and inducement allowance to all academic members of staff undergoing postgraduate training.


Other Graduate Support Facilities On Campus



    University Library


    Central Science Laboratory


    The Health Center


    University Bokshop


    National Center for Technology Management (NACETEM)


    Center for Energy Research & Development (CERD)


    Regional Center for Training in Aerospace Surveys (RECTAS)


    African Regional Center for Space Science and Technology Education


/* Style Definitions */
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;