Niger Delta University

May 5, 2014 Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ Africa,Nigeria Universities,West Africa



About Us

Niger Delta University (NDU) is a Bayelsa State Government funded university which is located in Wilberforce Island (an island of great historic significance) about 30 kilometers from Yenagoa – Bayelsa State capital. Our logo reflects the riverine and petroleum-rich milieux of the State, while the Vision and Mission are summarized in the motto (Creativity, Excellence, Service). The biodiversity of the extensive surrounding landscape opens opportunities for various collaborative research activities. Since academic activities started in 2001/2002 session, we have grown from an intake of 1039 students to a thriving population of more than 10,000 students and 3518 academic and non-academic staff with a main campus and a College of Health Sciences campus in Wilberforce Island and a satellite campus housing the Faculty of Law in the State capital

Programs Offered

Faculty of Agricultural Technology

* Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology
* Department of Crop Production
* Department of Fisheries
* Department of Livestock Production

Faculty of Arts

* Department of English and Literary Studies
* Department of Fine and Applied Arts
* Department of History/Diplomacy
* Department of Philosophy
* Department of Religious Studies
* Department of Theatre Arts

Faculty of Engineering

* Department of Agricultural Engineering
* Department of Chemical/Petroleum/Petrochemical Engineering
* Department of Civil Engineering
* Department of Electrical/Electronic Engineering
* Department of Marine Engineering
* Department of Mechanical Engineering

Faculty of Education

* Department of Curriculum and Instruction with options in Biology, Chemistry, Economics, English Language, Fine and Applied Arts, French, Geography, Health Education, History, Mathematics, Physics, Physical Education, Political Science and Religious Studies.
* with options in Adult Community Education, Education Administration, Guidance and Counseling and Primary Education
* Department of Vocational/Industrial Education with option in Agricultural Education, Business Education, Secretarial Education and Technical Education

Faculty of Management Sciences

* Department of Accountancy
* Department of Banking, Finance and Insurance
* Department of Business Administration
* Department of Marketing
* Department of Office Management Technology

Faculty of Pharmacy

* Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacy Practice
* Department of Pharmaceutical & Medicinal Chemistry
* Department of Pharmacognosy & Herbal Medicine
* Department of Pharmaceutics & Pharmaceutical Technology
* Department of Pharmaceutical Microbiology & Biotechnology
* Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology

Faculty of Sciences

* Department of Biochemistry
* Department of Biological Science
* Department of Computer Science
* Department of Geology
* Department of Mathematics
* Department of Physics
* Department of Pure and Applied Chemistry

Faculty of Social Sciences

* Department of Economics
* Department of Geography and Environmental Management
* Department of Political Science
* Department of Sociology

Faculty of Law

College of Medical Sciences

* Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences
* Faculty of Medicine
* Faculty of Nursing


Phone Number:+234809757544