Muteesa I Royal University

February 7, 2014 Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ Africa,East Africa,Uganda Universities

About Us

The establishment of Muteesa I Royal University (MRU) was a dual inspiration and motivation by Ssabasajja Kabaka Muwenda Mutebi II and promoted by the Executive Committee of the Buganda Kingdom, headed by the Katikkiro. The basic preparatory work was carried out by the Buganda University Task Force (BUTF), which was inaugurated by Katikkiro of Buganda on 8th June 2004 and submitted its final report on 2nd December 2004. The BUTF’s report was followed up by the formation of MRU Implementation Committee, which was succeeded by the Interim University Council on 1st June 2005 to serve for one year, and subsequently a fully fledged University Council inaugurated by the Chancellor. The National Council for Higher Education on 5th April 2005 Licensed Muteesa I Royal University to operate as a private University. The University opened its doors to the public on 01-10-2007.The Buganda Monarch is responsible for the establishment of many various academic institutions.

The Vision

  • Total commitment to optimum and integrated realization of individuals’ intellectual, moral and productive potential.

The Mission

  • To provide an effective and efficient setting for the development of intellectually dynamic individuals, principled and resourceful professionals and practitioners.

Programs Offered

The following undergraduate degree courses are offered at the university, as of August 2012:

Faculty of Business Management
  • Bachelor of Business Management
  • Bachelor of Public Administration
  • Bachelor of Public Relations
  • Bachelor of Procurement and Logistics Management
  • Bachelor of Commerce
  • Bachelor of Science in Accounting and Finance
  • Bachelor of Science in Development Economics
  • Bachelor of Micro Finance Management
  • Bachelor of Entrepreneurship and Management
  • Bachelor of Business Computing
  • Bachelor of Human Resource Management
  • Bachelor of Science in Project Management
Faculty of Science & Technology
  • Bachelor of Science in Computer Science
  • Bachelor of Software Engineering
  • Bachelor of Information Technology
  • Bachelor of Library and Information Science
  • Bachelor of Civil Engineering
  • Bachelor of Electrical Engineering
  • Bachelor of Industrial and Fine Art
Faculty of Education
  • Bachelor of Arts with Education
  • Bachelor of Education
  • Bachelor of Business Education
  • Bachelor of Entrepreneurship with Education
  • Bachelor of Education with Art and Design
  • Bachelor of Primary Education
  • Bachelor of Computer Studies with Education
  • Bachelor of Secondary Education
Faculty of Social, Culture & Development Studies
  • Bachelor in Development Studies
  • Bachelor in Social Work and Social Administration
  • Bachelor of Tourism and Hotel Management
  • Bachelors of Arts in Mass Communication
  • Bachelor of Guidance and Counseling

Admission and Applications

Download Application Form