Bishop Stuart University

February 7, 2014 Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ Africa,East Africa,Uganda Universities

About Us

Bishop Stuart University (BSU) is a Church based private University founded by the Ankole Diocese of the Church of the Anglican Province of Uganda.


It traces its humble beginnings from Bishop Tucker Theological College Mukono which was founded in 1913 as a Normal School and over the years evolved into the Uganda Christian University in 1992. The Normal School was transferred to Ruharo, next to Mbarara High School in 1952 under Rev. Hugh F. Hodge who founded a grade II co-educational Teacher Training College, known as Bishop Stuart College at Kakoba.

From 1952-1981 Bishop Stuart College trained grades II and III teachers. In 1982 the College was transferred to Kibingo in Rwampara, giving way to National Teachers College, Kakoba, to train Diploma Teachers for Primary and Secondary Schools.


In March 2002, the Ankole Diocese Synod resolved to establish a University at Kakoba Hill, named Bishop Stuart University.
In April 2004, Bishop Stuart University became affiliated to Uganda Christian University, Mukono and through this affiliation Uganda Christian University started awarding Degrees, Diplomas and Certificates to Bishop Stuart University students.


Bishop Stuart University is now licensed by NCHE and was allowed to award Degrees, Diplomas and Certificates starting with 2006/7 Academic year.

Our Vision


  • The vision of Bishop Stuart University is to be a University for Recreating the African Society with Academic Excellence, Human Values and Entrepreneurship.

Our Mission


  • The Mission is Producing Multi-Sectoral leaders / Operators who Know the way, Show the way and Go the way.


Programs Offered

The university offers courses at Certificate, Diploma, Undergraduate and Postgraduate levels. The programs offered include:

Certificate courses

  • Certificate in Nursery Teaching (Cert.NT)
  • Certificate in Education Management (Cert.EM)
  • Certificate in Appropriate & Sustainable Technologies (Cert.AST)
  • Certificate in Agribusiness (Cert.Agribiz)

Diploma courses


  • Diploma in Education (Dip.Ed)
  • Diploma in Early Childhood Education (Dip.ECE)
  • Diploma in Computer Science (Dip.CS)
  • Diploma in Agribusiness Management & Community Development (Dip.AMCD)
  • Diploma in Information Technology (Dip.IT)
  • Diploma in Business Administration (Dip.BA)
  • Diploma in Development Studies (Dip.Dev.Std)
  • Diploma in Project Planning & Management (Dip.PPM)
  • Diploma in Guidance and Counseling (Dip.GC)
  • Diploma in Social Work & Social Administration (Dip.SWASA)
  • Diploma in Science & Technology Education (Dip.STE)
  • Diploma in Education Management (Dip.EdM)
  • Diploma in Nursing Science (Dip.SN)
  • Diploma in Public Health (DPH)

Undergraduate courses


  • Bachelor of Arts with Education (BA/Ed)
  • Bachelor of Science with Education (BSc/Ed)
  • Bachelor of Education (B.Ed)
  • Bachelor of Agribusiness Management & Community Development (BAMCD)
  • Bachelor of Agriculture (B.Agric)
  • Bachelor of Computer Science (BCSc)
  • Bachelor of Information Technology (BIT)
  • Bachelor of Nursing (BSN)
  • Bachelor of Public Health (BPH)
  • Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA)
  • Bachelor of Social Work & Social Administration (BSWASA)
  • Bachelor of Guidance and Counseling (BGC)
  • Bachelor of Development Studies (BDS)
  • Bachelor of Economics & Management (B.Econ&M)
  • Bachelor of Environmental Management (BEM)
  • Bachelor of Science & Technology Education (BSTE)
  • Bachelor of Developmental Economics (B.Dev.Econ.)

Admission and Applications

General Academic Information

All applications for Undergraduate degree courses by Bishop Stuart University candidates should be addressed to, The Registrar, P.O. Box 09, MBARARA. so as to reach him not later than 30th June of the year for which admission is sought.

Entry Requirements for Undergraduate Degree Courses
A minimum of 2 principal passes at A-Level or equivalent obtained at the same sitting. In addition, applicants must meet specific degree requirements for each course. The entry requirements set should be regarded as the minimum, which in noway entitle an applicant to a place at the university.

Entry Requirements for Postgraduate Courses

  1. A Bachelors degree with Second Class Honours Upper Division or equivalent qualification from a recognized university.
  2. Admission requirements and regulations for all postgraduate programmes appear under the Graduate School.

Bishop Stuart University is committed to the development of the desired quality education at national and international levels; through research, scholarship and ethical growth in professional achievements and service in the interest of national development.

At present there are three avenues of entry to the university

  • The direct entry scheme
  • The Diploma holders entry scheme
  • The certificate holders entry scheme

1. The Direct Entry Scheme

A candidate shall be deemed eligible for consideration for admission to a first degree programme of the university if the candidate has obtained:

  • The Uganda Certificate of Education (O level) or an equivalent qualification.
  • At least two advanced level passes in approved subjects at the same sitting of the Uganda Advanced Certificate of Education (A level or an equivalent qualification).

2. The Diploma Holder’s Entry Scheme

A candidate seeking admission to a degree programme at the university must be a holder of a Diploma relevant to the desired field of study.

3.The Certificate Holder’s Entry Scheme

A candidate shall be eligible for consideration for admission to a programme leading to a Diploma of the university if the candidate has obtained:

  • The UCE or an equivalent from a recognized institution
  • A certificate from recognized institution after O level (Farm schools, Grade III Teacher training College etc).

NB: For certificate in Nursery teaching and Agribusiness, a UCE certificate shall be the minimum qualification requirement


We are thrilled that you are planning to apply to BSU. We hope the information provided on this website will help you to make an informed decision.

There is one intake in an academic year, that is June. Each intakes might have a different set of programs offered. Seeprograms offered.

Who can apply?

Ugandan Applicants

Applicants must have the minimum national entry requirements. For more information download the brochure

International applicants

Applicants must have qualifications that are recognized for University entry in their respective countries. For more information download the brochure

What are the cut points?

If you have the minimum entry requirements, then you stand a chance of being admitted. Cut points are set by the Admissions Board at its meeting depending on the program being applied for, the number of vacancies available and the number of applicants for a particular program.

Cut-off points for the previous admission are available on request but there is no guarantee that they will be the same at the next intake.

How can one apply?

Applicants are required to pay a non-refundable application fee of UGX. 35,000/= at any dfcu bank then proceed to the Admission Office and present a receipt at the front desk to obtain an application form.

What are the University Fees?

University fees may be paid in full at the opening of a semester or in two equal installments.

Full Prompt Payment: EXEMPTS the student from payment of the Registration fee of 50,000/= (Fifty thousand Shillings). For details about fees email to